Donald Ross Intercollegiate Final Day

Mimosa Hills 2nd

Donald Ross Intercollegiate
Mimosa Hills Golf Club (Par 70, 6718 yards)
October 15-16, 2012

Okay. Done with midterms, now I can focus on golf for the final two weeks of our fall season. First, I wanna go through App State a bit.
First round, I had school record (65) in my head the whole time. Not the smartest idea, but I knew I was hitting the ball well, I knew I was putting well, and I knew I needed to turn it up for my team. I turned at two under, which left me only three birdies from the record since it was a par 70. I birdie the first then don’t find another until the seventh, where I just missed a long eagle putt from off the green. At this point I’m sweating a little because I need just one more to post 65. I chunk-snap-hooked my drive on eight, one of my achilles’ heels when I get nervous, but managed to hit a good second and make a solid up and down for par, leaving the three par ninth. I hooked the tee shot a little too far because of my nerves, and put it shortside in the bunker. Can’t get the up and down to go, 67. Still a solid score, tied for the lead after round one.
And for some reason, in the eight minutes between rounds, everything unraveled. I stopped hitting it so well, I didn’t make as many putts, and though it got a lot windier, my bad second round score was just because of me. 75 strokes made up my second round, and the day was just as tough for our team. We placed 11th out of 17 after the first day, and it wasn’t going to get any better the next day.
Before I get to that, however, I want to talk about a kid I played with, since I love making an example of people who don’t know how to act on the golf course. Granted, I’m not a saint when it comes to reacting to bad shots, but I certainly don’t give up, and I definitely don’t throw my clubs at golf carts. I don’t need to name names, but if this guy reads this, GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER. I don’t care how amazing you are, playing at High Point or what have you, but it’s annoying, it’s childish, and you’re not impressing anyone.
Now I’ve got that out of my system…
The final day didn’t suit our fancy, either. We kept dropping shots throughout the final 18, and ended up 13th out of 17. I get it, this is a transitional period for our team after losing four members of our starting lineup, but man, we have to turn it around real soon. That goes for myself especially. If we’re gonna turn it around, I have to put up numbers. I have to GET BUCKETS.
ODU/OBX Invite starts tomorrow. Plan: go lower than I did last year. Easy right?

Follow us here.

Leave a comment